Is the Vita worth it?

I love iPhone gaming as much as the next guy, but the Playstation Vita looks better and better to me the more I see the beautiful device. That is, when I see the device, and not the price. While $250 by itself is a pretty good deal for all the sleek piece of hardware can do, it’s the other things I’ll need to buy that kill me. I was definitely looking forward to being able to download all of my games onto the device and not having to worry about bringing little game cards with me, but the price for those things. Geez. $120 for a 32GB memory card makes me want to cry myself to sleep while holding a teddy bear. A quick search on amazing for 32GB SD card reveals that I can choose from multiple selections at the low price of $40. I totally understand that going the proprietary route closes the door for the large amount of piracy that plagued the PSP, but you know what else promotes piracy? When things are ridiculously expensive. Add on top of the$120 that currently a 32GB Vita memory card is almost impossible to find, you’re looking at about a bucket full of quarters for a memory card. Just the memory card! For me to get the 32GB memory card, a Wi-Fi Vita (I don’t need the 3G), and a single game, let’s say Sound Shapes or Uncharted: Golden Abyss, that’s $410. I could buy a first generation iPad with that amount of money or a PS3 and multiple games, and an iPad can certainly do more than a Vita.

I really don’t want to be the guy that just whines about price, but seriously. I don’t think what that memory card is doing, along with the fact that some games will require you to have a memory card or buy DLC, which requires you to pay extra money, merits a large price. If I want to buy 8 games from Sony, assuming each game is 4 Gigs, that’s $320. Not bad, right? I would pay that for Sound Shapes, LittleBigPlanet, Golden Abyss, Gravity Daze, ModNation Racers, and 3 other games. But to store those games on my Vita, I need to pay another $120? That’s ridiculous.

I’m going to be the one that says whining probably isn’t a good first post for a blog, but it just had to be said.

This is Luke, signing off.

Leave a Reply

