When I’m not playing Resistance……

First off, I would like to apologize for not posting in the past two days. I’ve been really busy, and I haven’t even had time to play any video games, so blogging was definitely out of the question.

Now, there’s something you should know about me: I can’t play only one game at once. As much as I’m loving Resistance: Fall of Man right now, there’s a time when I put my PS3 controller in my hand and I realize that I just don’t want to shoot aliens. When that happens, I crack open the case to Rayman Origins.

Probably 2011's most beautiful game

At first glance, the art style of Rayman Origins practically hits you in the face. The bright, striking colors immediately pop out and catch your eye, and it starts to become difficult to look away. Fortunately for Rayman, it has more than just looks going for it.

Rayman Origins has some of the tightest controls of any platformer I’ve ever played, and I’ve played pretty much every platformer that Nintendo’s ever released. Controls don’t do you any good if you don’t have anything good to control yourself to, but that’s a department that Rayman’s got covered. He might not have arms, legs, or a neck, but he certainly has an interesting world. Take, for example, the ice world. Yes, I hear you groaning now, but stay with me, as this is no regular ice world. Believe it or not, it’s an ice world that’s themed around fruit, with myriad different fruits like watermelons and limes, and it’s called Gourmand Land. Another world, the Desert of Dijiridoos, is a music-themed desert world, which has you platforming across giant drums and other instruments while delightful music plays in the background.

Did I mention that this is a 4-player co-op game, a la New Super Mario Bros. Wii? Now, if you’re someone who hated NSMBW, have no fear, for this is way better than that. While you can still slap your friends around by hitting Square and bubble up if you’re in a tough spot, there’s none of that collision nonsense that hurt NSMBW’s multiplayer.

Rayman Origins is a nice break from a dark, run-and-gun shooter, and just a nice game in general. It’s currently $30 with free shipping from Amazon, and for that price, it’s definitely a game I would pick up. One thing’s for sure, though: If I had played this a couple of weeks ago, it would have been nominated for my personal Game of the Year.

If you want to buy Rayman Origins: http://www.amazon.com/E3-2011-ASIN-12-Playstation-3/dp/B0050SX3KG/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1325813732&sr=8-1

Source for my image: http://files.g4tv.com/rimg_606x0/ImageDb3/271383_l/rayman-origins-e3-2011-screenshots.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

