My Most Anticipated Games of 2012: Part 1

So, I promised you a multi-part feature, and I always keep my promises. This post is part 1 of a 2 or 3 part series about what game’s I’m looking forward to in 2012, and why you should be looking forward to them to. If you’re intrigued by any of these games, drop a comment down below. I would love to hear from my readers! So, without further adieu, here’s part one of my most anticipated games of 2012.

1. Journey

As a lover of not only platformers, but also “artsy” games, Journey looks exactly like my cup of tea. Thatgamecompany’s newest game’s unique art style and multiplayer make me want to dive right into it. One thing’s for sure: “Don’t Stop Believing” that Journey will be a great game.

Look at that cloth.......

2. The Last of Us

Regardless of the fact that I’m a bit tired of the franchise, the Uncharted series is a great series, and one of the PlayStation’s best brands. Naughty Dog’s latest project, The Last of Us, looks to provide a unique twist on Uncharted, and one that I’m very interested in: a post-apocalyptic-not-quite-zombie game. I always love post-apocalyptic scenarios, and the brain fungus taking over the inhabitants of this world look to provide a very interesting scenario, and one that I can’t wait to play. No release date has been announced yet, so we can’t be sure that it will come out this year, but Naughty Dog has always been good about getting their games out quickly, with each of their 3 Uncharted games coming out within a year of them being announced. Plus, Naughty Dog split up into two teams after Uncharted 2 came out, so this game’s been worked on since then, making it a game to look forward to this year.

Last of Us Trailer

3. Sly Cooper: Thieves In Time

I bought the Sly Collection. I feel like that’s all I really need to say to explain why I’m so excited for Sly 4. My very first Platinum was in “The Thievius Raccoonus,” and it was a thoroughly enjoyable experience. Sure, I might be lost in the first town of Sly 2 after leaving the game for about 2 months and forgetting where I’m supposed to go, but regardless, I can’t wait to play a brand new Sly Cooper game.

I can't believe this is Sanzaru's first PS3 game

4. Syndicate

I don’t get out of bed in the morning for just any old shooter. Uncharted provides a movie-like experience. Infamous gives me special powers and an open-world to toy around in. Resistance gives me a post-apocalyptic alien invasion scenario and unique weapons. Syndicate gives me a dystopian, high-tech future, along with absolutely stunning graphics and an exclusive mechanic. Every time I watch a new Syndicate trailer, I get even more excited for the game. The game’s new “breaching” mechanic, which allows you to control technology in the environment and your enemies to destroy your opponents looks like one of the most interesting things I’ve seen in a game lately, which is something you don’t see often. Even though I’ve never played any of the original Syndicate games, I’m highly looking forward to this one.

Simply Beautiful.

Note: Rainbow 6 Patriots was going to be the fifth entry on this list, but then I found out that it’s not being released until 2013. Regardless, that’s a game I can’t wait to play.

Image Sources: http://ps3media.ign.com/ps3/image/article/110/1100133/journey-20100617060051204_640w.jpg

http://ps3media.ign.com/ps3/image/article/117/1173830/sly-cooper-thieves-in-time-20110607054716730_640w.jpg

http://ps3.ign.com/dor/objects/14236905/syndicate/images/syndicate-20111202093133552.html

One comment on “My Most Anticipated Games of 2012: Part 1

  1. nccows says:

    If you preorder Syndicate on Amazon right now, you get a $20 Amazon credit that you can use on almost anything on the site. I’m DEFINITELY taking that deal up, and I would recommend you do too.

Leave a Reply

