My Most Anticipated Games of 2012: Part 3

You know it’s going to be a good year when you have so many games to write about that it becomes a 4-part series of posts. That’s right, there’s one more of these posts that you guys seem to love so much, judging by traffic. So, what you’re all looking forward to: part 3 of 4!

LittleBigPlanet Vita – I own LBP1 on PS3, but I was just never really able to get into it. I fully understand that the art style is unique and the controls are great, it’s just not the type of game I want to sit down on my couch and play. With the Vita, all that changes.

Platformers are the perfect kind of game to play on a handheld. It’s just that simple. If you have 10 minutes to wait for the bus, you can pull out the Vita and play a level. When you’re on the bus for 15 minutes, you can pull out the Vita and play a level or two. OR you could design a level. I’m probably not ever going to do that, as I’ve never been good at making big levels in games but the fact that you can do that will make people very happy.

I think that LittleBigPlanet Vita is actually one of the prime reasons to get a 3G Vita over a Wi-Fi model, because you can (presumably) download a new level wherever you are over 3G, and that’s really intriguing. Being able to browse through levels, see one you think is intriguing, and then play it in seconds is incredible, and it’s one of the reasons I’m looking forward to LBPV.

 

This looks like a scene straight out of E.T.

 

Resistance: Burning Skies – As someone who just finished Fall of Man, seeing how this Chimeran invasion started is something that’s really intriguing to me. Also, I don’t know European geography as well as I probably should, so in Fall of Man, when it tells me where I am, I have no idea where that is. Being able to tell how close I am to where I live or places I’ve been seems like it will add weight to the locations, something I’ve been told also happens in Resistance 2 and 3, but I haven’t played those yet. Wherever the locale, the Resistance gameplay is solid, and while it’s not the pick up and put down type of experience that the two above games look to be offering, I’d be lying if I said that I’ve never laid in bed and played a DS game for hours on end, (Might & Magic Clash of Heroes woot woot!) so that doesn’t really bother me, but at that point, I have to wonder why isn’t this game on the PS3? Regardless of the platform, a prequel to Fall of Man excites me, and I can’t wait to play it on that beautiful OLED screen.

This is on a handheld!!!

 

ModNation Racers: Road Trip

Once again, ModNation is just one of those games I could never justify playing on the PS3. Not because it doesn’t look great, but because it’s just not the kind of thing I want to play when I sit down at the end of a long day. Just like Mario Kart, it looks like ModNation will shine on the portable space. With improved track creation controls so easy that even I could make a level and all of the user-created content from the PS3 ModNation, Road Trip looks like the kind of game I would love to have installed on my Vita and just pull out of my bag and play.

 

Is he...... driving a tank that says NATO on it?

Check back tomorrow for the 4th and final entry of games I’m looking forward to in 2011! Until then, go pick up a PS3 exclusive you’ve never played before. I recommend Resistance.

Image Sources:

http://www.buttoncombo.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/09/lbp-vita.jpg

http://pspmedia.ign.com/psp/image/article/118/1188157/resistance-burning-skies-20110816114544354.jpg

Leave a Reply

