Sorry!

So, my goal is to post something every day, and this is my fulfillment of that goal for the day. It’s been a long day, and I’m not really in the mood for hunting down screenshots and writing up why I’m excited for games, so I’ll post that for you guys tomorrow. But for today, I have a story to tell you.

Yesterday, I finally got a TV for my personal video game playing, and it’s in my bedroom. But there’s one very important fact: it’s the Playstation brand 3DTV. I’ve played some Uncharted 3 in 3D and Rayman: Origins, which doesn’t have 3D, on it, and it looks incredible both ways. The TV I was previously playing on was only 720p, so having a 1080p TV with such a high pixel density made Rayman look absolutely incredible. It only can play 3D in 720p, so Uncharted looked pretty much the same, but the 3D was pretty nice. I was definitely able to judge distances better than in 2D, and I felt like I was able to make shots better, but that might have just been me.

My newest electronic purchase

It was on sale on Best Buy for $300, and it came bundled with one pair of 3D glasses, a 6 foot HDMI cable, and a copy of Motorstorm: Apocalypse (mad props to cheapassgamer.com for showing me the deal!). For a 24 inch, 240hz and 1080p TV, $300 is already a really good price, but being in 3D and coming with those other things makes it an insane deal.

An interesting thing that this TV can do is what Sony calls “SimulView”, which is a feature in which 2 players who are playing co-op on this TV can each have a different full-screen view in their 3D glasses. Unfortunately, the only game I have that supports this feature is Motorstorm: Apocalypse, and I don’t like racing games, nor do I have a second pair of 3D glasses. Now, if Uncharted 3 supported SimulView, I would be all over it, but it doesn’t, although supposedly more games are going to be existed to support SimulView.

Overall, this is a great TV, and if you’re looking for a small TV or a monitor, this is definitely one I would recommend, though be warned that it does NOT come with a remote, so you’ll have to pick up the Sony PS3/3D monitor remote.

Tomorrow, I’ll post up the fourth (and hopefully final) part of my most anticipated games of 2012. Until then, keep on gaming! (Wow, that sounded dumb)

Image source: http://www.neowin.net/images/uploaded/5805260905_7e6312ca7b_z.jpg

Leave a Reply

