What I’m Playing Now

It’s all dandy to talk about the games that are coming up and the games you’ve already finished, but sometimes you just want to talk about what you’re playing right now. However, I don’t feel like I’ve done enough in the games that I’ve been playing recently to merit a whole post all by themselves, so I’m going to put the three of them into one post. I hope you enjoy it, because I feel like this might become a weekly feature of sorts.

1. Rayman Origins – Believe it or not, the game is still absolutely breathtaking. The platforming is incredibly tight, but as I get towards the end of the game, I feel like sometimes my deaths aren’t entirely my fault. Unlike other games like Super Meat Boy where if you die you know it was your fault, Rayman Origins is starting to get a little cheap, and I don’t really like that. But other than that, the game is absolutely incredible. As I thought I was nearing the end, the game suddenly opened up and introduced an entire other half of the game that I wasn’t suspecting, so not only is the game incredibly fun, but there’s a metric buttload of levels to play through. Both GameStop and Amazon have the game for $30 new right now, and for that price, I would definitely pick it up. Just one note: if you buy this game used, I will come after you. This kind of game needs to be supported, and if you cheat the developers out of money, I will be incredibly angry.

The fact that this game can sell as a retail game is something to celebrate about

2. Resistance 2 – I’m ashamed to say that I bought this Used, but it’s only because GameStop sent me a coupon for my birthday last week (my birthday’s in August, so I don’t know how THAT works), and after the coupon the game was $8, and I just couldn’t pass that up. But on to the actual game. It’s actually a really beautiful game, a giant leap over Fall of Man, and I really like where they went with the UI. After looking at the latest “Syndicate” trailers, I noticed a remarkable resemblance between the UI’s of the two games, so it probably explains why I like Resistance 2’s so much, because I’ve always thought that Syndicate’s UI looked really awesome. The ¬†gameplay is really good, but sometimes I feel like there are giant swarms of enemies that are a bit unfair, causing me to die tons of times in a row, almost making me want to put the difficulty on Easy. One thing that bothers me about the game is that they definitely have some technology that did NOT exist in the 1950’s, like, you know, COMPUTERS. Other than that, I really like the game, and taking it to the United States was a brilliant move. Emerging from the top of a submarine and seeing an absolutely wrecked San Francisco wrenched my heart, and that’s not usually something you expect from a first person shooter. Overall, I really like the game, and I would say you don’t really need to play Fall of Man before you play Resistance 2.

Insomniac actually discovered what a color palette is this time!

3. Uncharted 3 – I haven’t played this one as much as the other two, but I’ve still been able to form an impression about Uncharted 3, and that is that Uncharted 2 is better. The story moments in Uncharted 3 are just as good as in Uncharted 2, but the combat is very inferior. In Uncharted 2, there would be lots of enemies, but I always felt like there was a way to beat the scenario, I just hadn’t discovered it yet. In Uncharted 3, this is the school of thought that Naughty Dog used while creating combat scenarios: “So, we’ll put 7 guys over there with snipers. Wait, maybe 9. And then we’ll have those giant guys that it takes about a minute to kill rush the player and flush them out from cover. And then we’ll have 15 standard grunts come in from over there and kill him. Oh, is that cover there? Take that out. We don’t want them to be able to avoid the gunshots.” It’s not just difficult: it’s poorly designed. I’ve only discovered a couple of scenes like this so far, but that’s already more than in Uncharted 2, and I’m only about 30-40% of the way through. I love Nathan Drake and his crew, but this game is just a bit of a grind through at times. I love the multiplayer, though! If you wanna play, hit me up on PSN at nccows.

These are the parts I like. The giant battles..... not so much.

Leave a Reply

