Quickie: Journey

Just to get it out of the way: “Don’t stop believing in Jenova Chen.” There, I’m done. No more music puns. Unless, of course, that’s how you want it. Because any way you want it, that’s the way you need it. Gosh, I hate myself sometimes.

So, this quickie was supposed to be a review of Journey, but after playing through the game in one sitting, I’ve discovered that there is no reason at all to write a review for Journey. If you have a soul and enough limbs to hold a DualShock, you should buy Journey.

Journey is the story of a character whom I once heard described as “The Traveler”, although the game never gives your character a name. As your character wakes up in the beginning of the game, you see a mysterious mountain in the distance. The game never tells you this, but you feel the correct answer in your heart: get to the mountain. Ostensibly, Journey is a platformer, but in retrospective, it’s much more of a work of art.

Suddenly, only one thought appears in your head: get to the mountain

No game has ever emotionally affected me the way Journey has. Surfing down the sides of a sand dune made my heart leap with joy, but when my traveling companion disappeared at the end of that sequence, my heart was broken. I would give you more details on that segment, or any other segment of the game, but that might ruin the game for you, and that’s not at all what I want.

Now, I hear what you’re asking: “Traveling companion? So, like, I get to play with one of my friends on PSN?” No, quite the opposite. While you’re traveling the game world, another Traveler might appear in your world. There is no PSN name above their character’s head, and there is no voice chat. The only form of communication you have is a one-note call that also causes a glyph to appear above your head. Strangely enough, that’s all you need. This call can symbolize any emotion you want it to, and every single time I used my call, my new friend understood.

Once the credits roll, which will be at most two hours after you begin the game (it’s quite short), you’ll see the list of people that you traveled with. To my surprise, I traveled with 5 different people, and I now have 5 new outgoing friend requests on PSN. By playing Journey with someone else, we created a bound that we will share forever; we went on a journey.

Anything else I would say would have a possibility of ruining Journey for you, because the game doesn’t have a whole lot to it in the best kind of way. $15 for 2 hours of gameplay may seem like a rip-off to you, but take my word for it: Journey is worth it. If this were a review, Journey would get a 10.

Also, the soundtrack is INCREDIBLE, and only $5 on iTunes. I’m listening to it as I write this review, and somehow it makes a blog post entitled “Quickie” seem much more epic than I ever could.

Image Source: http://gematsu.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/12/Journey-Screens_12-11-10.jpg

Leave a Reply

