Today’s The Day!

For a fan of the videogame industry, today is like the first day of Hanukkah: you know that for the next several days, you’re going to get plenty of gifts (note, I am NOT Jewish, so if this isn’t truly how Jews feel at Hannukah, I apologize. That’s just how I would feel if Christmas went on for multiple days).

But for a Sony fan specifically, today is like Christmas morning. Within hours of the time of this writing, Sony’s E3 press conference is going to occur, which means that presents of new game announcements will rain down on us. We have no idea what will be revealed, but all I know is what I WANT to be revealed.

1. Vita Price Drop

Let’s face it: the Vita needs it. It’s not that I think the device isn’t worth $250, it’s just that nobody else does. Sure, I would be a liar if I said that the price of the Vita wasn’t kind of keeping me from buying one, but some of that is just because I don’t have a whole lot of money right now (although that might be because I bought a penguin costume for $40 today). If Sony doesn’t make the Vita cheaper, the Vita will fail. It’s as simple as that. Not only does Sony DEFINITELY not want the Vita to fail, but I most certainly don’t want it to fail because I want to buy one to play all of those sweet games. Sound Shapes looks rad, as does Assassin’s Creed Liberation and all of the Vita games I said I was excited for at the beginning of the year.

One of these beautiful machines for about $170 would be a tantalizing deal for many gamers

2. InFAMOUS 3

I LOVE InFAMOUS. I think it’s one of this generation’s greatest franchises because it makes you legitimately feel like a superhero. Probably my favorite feeling that a video game has given me is using Cole’s Ice Launch to jump into the air and then using my Static Thrusters to fly 50 meters through the air simply because of my own power, and that’s one of the reasons I loved InFAMOUS 2 so much. I don’t care if InFAMOUS 3 comes to PS3 or Vita: I just want it. The only problem with this is that the end of 2 left the inFAMOUS story in a little bit of a strange situation, but after all, the franchise is based on comic books, which are known for their out-of-left-field plot twists.

Another one of these would be FANTASTIC

3. A New IP

As much as I love old franchises, having something new to mix things up every once in a while. Luckily, it looks like Quantic Dream has heard those of us who are clamoring for something new, as rumor has it that they will be revealing their new game for the PS3 today, entitled “Beyond.” If this new game named after IGN’s PlayStation Podcast (wow, that was a deep joke) looks anywhere near as good as Quantic Dream’s recent “Kara” tech demo, it’ll be a home run for team PlayStation.

This is supposedly Quantic Dream’s next game; is it? You’ll probably know by the time you read this.

4. Playstation Plus for Vita

I’m currently subscribed to PlayStation Plus, a subscription-based service that provides me with free PSN games, PSOne classics, and Minis every month along with a plethora of discounts on games that I might be interested in buying. Currently, these services only affect my PS3, but hopefully, today Sony will reveal that Plus will add value to Vita. This would be a HUGE win, as it would lead many more people to subscribe to this service. And honestly, if I knew that I was already accumulating free Vita games through Plus, I would buy a Vita. It sounds strange, but it’s absolutely true.

Will this be coming to Vita?

 

But of course, I’m just one PlayStation fan; every fan on the planet has a different set of wishes. So what do YOU want?

Image Sources: http://cdn.hypebeast.com/image/2011/06/sony-playstation-vita.jpg

http://cloud.videogamewriters.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/i2_ScreenShot_Cole_Grind-570×427.jpg

http://gematsu.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/06/Beyond_Leak_10.jpg

http://cdn.slashgear.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/05/psplus.jpg

Leave a Reply

